It is often said, "When in Rome, do as the Romans do." Do you think people should adapt to and accept the culture of the country they visit? Do you think it is possible to learn a culture without learning the language?

The ancient proverb goes, “When in Rome, do as the Romans do,” and it does not just exist in English, but other languages as well. Within lies the ancient wisdom that people should integrate with the local community wherever they go, which I feel is still relevant in the contemporary world. Morever, I believe it is only possible for one to do so if they learn the language of the culture to which they are adapting.

Successful assimilation with the local community is imperative to one’s survival in a foreign environment. This is because adopting local practices allows one to build mutual respect, win trust, and foster good relationships with the local, making one more likely to be accepted by them. Research has shown that the majority of individuals judge strangers by looking for similarities. Hence, emulating local practices makes one more likable by the local people.

Speaking the local language, including mimicking the tone and speed of the language, is an essential part of emulating local practices. For the people who use the language on a daily basis, it is not just a medium of commnunication, but also an embodiment of their identity, culture and history. Psychological studies reveal that people behave differently toward others who do not sound like a native, which occurs instinctively rather than on purpose. Therefore, learning the local language is an inseperable part of learning the culture.

In summary, I highly advocate for adapting and accepting the culture of foreign countries for visitor. For those who plan on putting down roots there, it is even highly advisory to learn the local language. This is because a deep understanding of the local culture facilitates the integration with the local community, which is key to one’s success in a foreign environment.