It is sometimes said that countries should produce all the food for their populations to eat and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people hold the belief that all the sustenance in nations should be reversed produced by their own and reserved for their citizens rather than import nourishment from other contries. Even though I comprehend the rationale behind the opinion, I still firmly disagree with it.

Those who argue that domestic food production should only satisfy the need of their own civilians and keep the nessicity of importing the lowest may have some arguements. Chief among these is that producing food by the country itself is more cost-effective than importing food from other countries. The government can apply policies in which reduce the cost of hiring land for animal husbandary or make investments to help the farmers suffering finacial hardship; this lower the expenses associated with numerous catergories of food production. For instance, both cultivating crops and breeding animals for meet need various conditions and requirements, such as water, animal feed, land and facilities; through the supporting of the government, national food production is more advantageous. Regardless such benefits, this is only true to several developed nations or nations with blessings of nature. Countries like Saudi Arabia have a small portion of agricultural land which result in the fact that Saudi Arabia rely on importing sustenance for their population to eat.

I still oppose with the given opinion because of some reasonable explainations. Perhaps the most obvious point is the diplomacy-relating reasons. As far as economy is concerned, importing and exporting play an essential role in keeping the relationship between nations stable. Not only does such trading actions possitively benefit the world economy but also decline the starvation happening in many regions around the world. When it comes to the variety of food, In some places, multiple types of food might be unavailable to have or unobtainable due to the high difficulty. As an example, locked nations, namely, Laos and Mongolian is inaccessible to seafood which explain why most of the imported goods to these two countries are fish and others sea creatures; even though India’s rice production is really high, they still import rice from countries like Vietnam and Thailand, given that a few rice varieties from those two nations have better taste than those growth in India.

While it is plausible why many proponents support the arguement in which a country should only produce the food by its own and descrease the amount of nourishment imported into that country, I still express a strong disagreement with the aforedmentioned arguement