It is sometimes said that people should encouraged to get married before they are 30, as this is the best both for the individual and for society. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that marriage is best done in their thirties, while some others believe they should get married when they are ready. I personally disagree with the former statement as I believe people should be given the freedom to choose what’s best for them.

On one hand, early age marriage is common in some nations. For instance, lots of Indonesians get married in their early twenties, mostly because of the goal to have a small age gap with their kids to better understand their similar mindsets. However, young couples tend to argue a lot, and it is not surprising if it happens because they feel the need to maintain their pride and win over their ego. This might lead them to a divorce, and unfortunately, this is a normal case that occurs in today’s society.

On the other hand, marriage at a young age might create some issues. People should be given the freedom to choose when they want to get married as they need to be financially stable first. Aside from this, being mentally prepared is one of the key factors to a long lasting marriage, and young couples usually lack this. A good mental preparation will lead to a better marriage life, and it also aids them to bear with household tasks better as they can cope well with these.

In conclusion, although there are several advantages to get married before one reaches their thirties, a lot of drawbacks, such as financially unstable and divorce, might occur. Therefore, I disagree with the statement as people should be given the freedom to choose at what point they want to get married to dodge possible challenges they might face.