It is suggested that all young adults should undertake a period of unpaid work, helping people in the community. Does it bring more benefits or drawbacks to the young people?

Some people recommend that all young individuals should participate in volunteer work for helping others in the community. In my opinion, this helpful approach brings more benefits for youngsters if they maintain balance with their personal lives.

One main advantage of volunteering from a young age is gaining work experience. Most employers shortlist candidates who already have prior work experience regardless of whether it is paid or unpaid. Thus, if young generation gains volunteer work experience in community centres in roles such as nurse practitioners, it would help them to find employment opportunities in hospitals.

Gaining interpersonal skills is another benefit of volunteering. When young adults participate in the community work, they get exposure to meeting new people, which helps them to enhance their communication skills. For instance, doing unpaid work in blood donation camps allows young individuals to talk to different kinds of patients and resolve their concerns, making them confident in conversations. Communication is one of the main skills that most companies seek in their employees. So, these skills could be useful for future employment opportunities.

However, it is necessary for young individuals to maintain balance between their work and personal life. While working voluntarily teaches them different skills, dedicating themselves completely towards it would not be advantageous because there are many other things for them to learn. These could be learned during their personal time as well. For example, spending time on hobbies is equally important as volunteer work. Therefore, striking a balance is crucial for getting full benefits of volunteering.

In conclusion, recommending all young members in society to indulge in unpaid work is advantageous as long as they know to strike a balance between their personal and work ives.