It is suggested that all young adults should undertake a period of unpaid work, helping people in the community. Does it bring more benefits or drawbacks to the young people?

People’s opinions are divided on whether young adults should participate in unpaid community service. although there are both negative and positive aspects to consider, I firmly believe that the merits outweigh the disadvantages.

On the one hand, it is an indisputable fact that the disadvantages of voluntary work are obvious. The main reason is that these activities consume a great amount of time. Indeed, young people have to set aside/devote/sacrifice their free time to learn about the regulations, skills, and safety guidelines to be qualified enough to provide aid and services to other people in the community. This is undoubtedly obligatory for those whose schedules are hectic and who lack sufficient time for rest; leading to some mental issues such as stress and depression. Moreover, young people can be taken advantage of by attending voluntary activities. Numerous for-profit organizations may exploit them for their benefits. For example, a company may encourage young people to attend their campaigns relating to raising awareness of people toward environmental problems, but it turns out that they are exploiting young people for their advertisements and other commercial purposes. Such phenomena may lead to anger and mistreatment among young people, and further the imbalance of the community.

On the other hand, the benefits of encouraging people to engage in voluntary work to help fellow citizens are more significant. Chief of these is that it considerably fosters moral development. This is because practical experiences enable youngsters to understand the predicaments of people in need, such as the poor or the disabled, to acknowledge the struggle in their daily activities; potentially becoming more empathetic citizens. Besides, it is also beneficial for the future careers of young people. Recruiters nowadays appreciate candidates who are involved in voluntary activities since they are considered to have acquired not only hands-on experience but also a spirit of dedication and responsibility. As a result, they may get better job opportunities as their curriculum vitae is filled with such work.

In conclusion, while there remain some disadvantages to forcing young people to partake in unpaid work such as wasting time and exploitation, I contend these are surpassed by the accumulation of other merits, such as potential ethical developments and career prospects.