It was predicted that with the development of technology, people would have more free time in the 21st century. To what extent do you think the prediction has come true?

It has become increasingly prevalent for people to have more leisure time due to the introduction of technological advancement. While I accept this perception is somewhat justifiable, I would contend that this trend could have an adverse impact on our lives.

On the one hand, it is understandable why the presence of state-of-the-art devices could help individuals have more spare time. Firstly, the advance of automated gadgets are prone to aid women in doing chores. With the assistance of cleaning robots such as vacuum cleaners, most women no longer have to expend a lot of time doing household chores, which enables them to spend time for themselves and others, proportionally resulting in better physical and mental health. Secondly, the accelerating development of robotic technologies could be beneficial to business. This is because, in the business realm, robots could work ceaselessly which not only enhances the work productivity of firms but also maximizes the cooperations’ profits with cost-effectiveness.

On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that this trend could be disadvantageous to some extent. One rationale is that the growing advancement of robotic engineering could worsen individuals’ health-related issues. To illustrate, with the aid of robotic helpers at their disposal, people are possibly inclined to a sedentary lifestyle which leads to many health problems such as obesity, cardiovascular issues, and high blood pressure. Another justification is that the advancement of technology has heightened the unemployment rate. Because of their superior productivity and cost-efficiency compared to human labor As a result, entrepreneurs are more likely to invest in automated machines to generate higher profits, potentially leading to an increase in the unemployment rate, and even the criminal rates.

In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that this trend could reap enormous bestow for humans in general and business in particular, I would contend that this choice could affect citizens’ health problems and increase the number of unemployed people.