It was predicted that with the development of technology, people would have more free time in the 21st century. To what extent do you think the prediction has come true?

Technology has been a contentious topic for a long time. There was a prediction that with technological advancements, there would be more leisure time for individuals in the 21st century. Personally, I think this forecast is true for some reason.

First and foremost, technological developments inevitably bring convenience to residents and users. With the advent of many domestic electronic devices such as cookers or microwaves, people these days do not have to spend much time doing housework; as a result, they can have more time relaxing and recharging after a day of hard work so they may provide good working performance in the upcoming day. Moreover, taking transportation as an example, in the past 50 years, travellers could only choose trains for far-distance journeys and actually, it took around a day for a 1000 km trip. Nevertheless, with airplanes, for the same distance it only takes 2-3 hours to reach the destination so travelers may have more time to adapt to new places and explore new cultures and things, …

Furthermore, scientists recently created artificial intelligence and robots, which can be utilized in working environments as tools for analyzing and providing necessary sources of information. Consequently, it not only saves time for laborers to do research but also reduces the workload workers have today, which is considered heavy and enormous so individuals may have more time for themselves and their families.

To recapitulate, it is undeniable that with the developments of technology, living standards have improved significantly. Residents nowadays also have more leisure time resulting in a work-life balance, which can benefit their physical and mental health.