It was predicted that with the development of technology, people would have more free time in the 21st century. To what extent do you think the prediction has come true?

There was a forecast that in the contemporary world, individuals would enjoy more leisure time as a result of enormous strides in technology. I somewhat concur with the viewpoint that this expectation has materialized.

It is justifiable why I hold that advances in technology enable people to have more spare time, as they provide numerous tools for both domestic and academic purposes. To begin with, robots or artificial intelligence items for household tasks such as cleaners, dish-washers, vacuums, or even smart homes assist individuals in doing household chores; hence, they could shorten their time for doing those things. For instance, smart home systems help people monitor air quality in their house and determine when and how to clean and filter the air without the involvement of people’s activities. Another justification is technology items like smartphones, the internet and so forth provide individuals efficient and handy tools for accessing information or finding out whatever they want. As a result, people could put in hours’ studying or engaging in other pursuits instead of researching.

On the other hand, enhancements of technology might decrease individuals’ leisure time since they provide abilities to do a variety of things even outside their workplace. First and foremost, along with the development of technology, numerous devices like laptops and mobile phones were generated, helping people accomplish their work-related tasks after official hours. Therefore, it might shorten people’s spare time, limiting their opportunities of recreation. Additionally, in the present climate, various online learning courses, websites for practising and so on are available on the Internet. This convenience offers students numerous kinds of tools to enhance their academic performances, making learners decrease their time for leisure activities to meet academic demands.

In conclusion, thanks to the advancements in technology for household and educational needs, people in the modern world could have a greater potential to have more spare time for entertaining activities. However, they also enable individuals to do myriad things from home or other locations which may make people busier than before.