It was predicted that, with the development of technology, people in the 21st century would have much more free time in the past. To what extent has this prediction come true?

In the 21st century, it is expected that technological development will bring a dramatic increase in spare time. I partly agree with this proposal and this essay will explain the consideration.

On the one hand, technology indeed has allowed us to complete tasks more quickly and easily. For example, in agriculture, the use of machines has dramatically increased efficiency, meaning farmers have less hardship and have spare time for other work. In the household, the popularization of electric appliances such as washing machines and vacuum cleaners can assist us in doing all kinds of housework, while in the past these chores were exhausting and time-consuming.

On the other hand, the more advanced the technology, the more risks will occur such as social competition intensìied and individuals must work harder to avoid being replaced by society. Thus, to keep their jobs people must either invest more time in learning and developing new skills or take part-time occupations that require longer hours to make ends meet. Besides, in the workplace, employees are under high pressure, worrying that they may be replaced by machines or other competitors. Under this circumstance, no time is left to relax and unwind.

In conclusion, some technological improvements have indeed contributed greatly to reducing the amount of time allocated for certain manuals and these advancements also could bring about more free time might not be true for every individual in this modern time.