Language teachers should concentrate on giving positive feedback when students do good work, and teachers should never criticize bad work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the talking about language teachers responsibilities has become a topic of public debate. Many people consider that tutors who teach languages must give more attention to positive sides rather than to criticise for bad work. While there are reasons like felling more trust to teacher and self-believing, to support the idea that language instructors should focus on good work to give a great feedback, I still believe that criticising weak sides is also significant as it makes it less challenging to work with them.

Giving positive feedback allows good enough opportunities like student’s trust, desire to improve skills and faith in themselves. Such qualities in students are essential for every teacher in learning foreign language. For instance, in regular life it is difficult to do both notice that learners usually want more positive teachers than others. This is because it makes them feel more confident and calmer. In addition, when teacher gives more positive feedback, student feels responsibility, motivation to study and tries to be even better. Therefore, it is clear that positive feedback plays an important role in learning languages.

However, criticising for bad work is essential as well in improving skills. Such approach leads to a good results, but the ability to criticise and to be very positive in balance is the main thing. For instance, if language teacher always focus on good sides, student will forget about the weak ones. In this case, student will not concentrate on bad works. Therefore, everything in teaching should be in balance to get a good results.

In conclusion, in studying foreign languages it is necessary for teachers to keep criticism and support together. Each of them has an important influence on students.