Language teachers should concentrate on giving positive feedback when students do good work, and teachers should never criticize bad work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that teachers who teach language should appreciate the students more for their good performances than criticize them for bad performances. Although I agree that positive feedback plays a very vital role, I think that structured criticism is also crucial for their improvement in learning languages.

On the one hand, positive feedback from the language teachers significantly improves the student’s performances. Learning a new language is not a very easy task. Mistakes are very common phenomena when learning a new language. In that case, if teachers solely criticize students for making errors, they will be demotivated to move forward. For example, without appreciation of a student’s hard work, he will lose his self-confidence eventually.” Learning from mistakes” – both the teachers and students should keep this concept in mind. That’s why it is important for the language teachers to give positive feedback to students on their good efforts to keep them moralized and motivated.

On the other hand, criticisms are also important for students. Criticisms will make the actual evaluation of their performances. However, that criticism should be structured and specific. A well-structured criticism will help the students to identify their weak areas in which they need to improve. For instance, a student can understand his potential mistakes that he may make in his final exam, through criticism during his learning period from his teachers. Thus, it is very crucial for the students to receive criticism from their language teachers to identify their mistakes.

To conclude, though I believe that the language teachers should focus more on appreciating the students for their good efforts, I think that their structured criticisms are also important for the students to understand their weak zones.