Large shopping malls are replacing small shops. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In today’s world, small shops are quickly being replaced by huge shopping malls, which contain a lot of feasibilities for customers.

Although this development has both benefits and drawbacks, I strongly believe that the positives of this event outweigh the negatives.

To start with, malls provide several services to consumers such as entertainment, eating, shopping, etc. Because of its convenience, individuals prefer to go shopping malls and spend their time. One of the convenience the shopping centres bring is the wide variety of products. For example, there are many stores that sell the products from the same category, and it makes the shopping process easier for people. This centralised shopping experience not only saves time for shoppers but also attracts businesses, leading to increased economic activity and employment opportunities within the vicinity. Moreover, the quality of products and professional customer service attract the attention of individuals since this popularity make shopping malls more preferred than ordinary stores.

On the other hand, it is apparent that, the small boutiques are owned by dwellers for most of the time. Consequently, the economical welfare of the shop owners depend on the performance of their shops. However, the large shopping centres exterminate the local competition in the territory and it creates a tough situation for the individual entrepreneurs.

In conclusion, while replacing small stores with shopping malls can brings certain disadvantages, I firmly believe that the positivity of this modification, which are the convenience in purchasing goods and development in recruitment rate, outweighs the negative aspects.