Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages, and if so, how?

Learning English is often considered one of the most important goals of an educational institution worldwide. Recently, however, this widely accepted paradigm in the development of children’s communication abilities is being challenged by scholars around the globe. Some researchers argue that allocating limited teaching resources towards a foreign language might starve lesser-known local languages that might only be hanging by a thread. Having the skills to express ideas for an international audience cannot be taken lightly however, which is why others argue that English should be put on a higher pedestal. In my opinion, English should be taught very seriously, but never at the expense of local languages, which are equally as vital. Thus, I believe elaborate solutions are needed to ensure both worries are taken into account.

It cannot be overstated how influential the English language can be in a person’s life. From research and scientific development to entertainment and social communication, English is everywhere. Therefore, it might seem trivial that all members of society should have a basic command of the language. However, consider the day-to-day lives of local villagers distant from urban centers. Far from the borders, these occupants rarely demonstrate a need for international exchange. In fact, one could argue that they make a clear depiction of a lifestyle that neither relies on nor benefits from the knowledge of English. So, whether English should be taught universally to every young student is a matter of debate among curriculum designers and social scientists. Notably, many renowned English teachers and authors argue against the current system.

On the other hand, rural and isolated communities often thrive on the abundance of local language speakers. These languages are often acquired natively by the occupants of such settlements and share strong ties with the community’s deep-rooted culture. Henceforth, most linguists and cultural scientists share the opinion that saving local languages from extinction is a matter of grave importance. According to widely accepted theories, many unique local and cultural identities could have ceased to exist and be recognized, had their associated language gone extinct before outsiders landed their attention upon them. It follows that every language’s extinction is a devastating catastrophe for its parent culture and demographic, which should be prevented at all costs.

Ensuring the survival of these niche languages has become unexpectedly difficult with the recent but remarkable globalization movement. However, actionable steps can still be taken by governments, educational systems, and learners worldwide to raise awareness of such profound elements of cultural diversity. Some proposed solutions include upgrading the budget designated to language teaching programs, raising public awareness of the extinction threat they might be facing, and readjusting national curricula to include a more reasonable and balanced split between local and foreign languages. Experts hope these steps create an environment of cultural diversity intertwined with international communication, where both can coexist without being impaired by one another.

In conclusion, having a well-thought-out stance on the aforementioned matter is necessary to protect local languages from imminent danger, while simultaneously equipping people with the English-speaking capabilities required in an interconnected world of science and international relations. Making this a problem of the past is not possible without the contribution of every member of a society, and therefore, raising awareness on the challenge being faced by local languages should become a priority for concerned individuals.