Life now is better than it was 100 years ago. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The present time is better than it was hundred years ago. There are constant debates among the young generations and the old generations over the topic whether the present is better than past. While, most of the youngsters agree, I disagree with the statement that life in current times is better than the life a century back. I have illustrated my views in below.

Health is wealth, while most of us are overlooking these great lines, our ancestors had no other choice than being healthy. The average teenager today is way much immobile and lazy as compared to an average teen hundred years back. There were not many indoor activities so they have to get out of their houses for recreational activities, because of lack of transportation they have to walk miles to get somewhere, there were far less fast food options back then so they use to eat at home. These are the reasons for which our grandparents are health today, my grandfather even today feels it as more convenient walking to place even as far as ten kilometers rather than riding a car to that place, on the contrary me and even my friends can’t walk five kilometers in a day.

Furthermore, the human connections and societies are in very degraded form nowadays. In the past the societies were a very important part of an individual’s life and the friendships were not limited to the mobile phones. Individuals were more ethical in those days, they had a constant fear of losing their reputation among friends and society, they enjoyed the human company and respected the things they were blessed with. Now we almost take everything for granted and barely pay any attention to the technologies we have. My grandfather shared with me that they use to pray for all the new household items before installing them in house.

Finally, it can be concluded that people were much healthy, active and hand a true emotional bond with even the smallest non living things of their life. Hence, I disagree with the statement that Life is better nowadays than hundred years back, as now we are less of life than the people hundred years back.