Light pollution ( excessive light during nighttime ) is a form of pollution, espacially in modern cities. What problems does light pollution cause, and what solutions can you suggest for governments and businesses to take ?

As technology further advances, the upcoming problem of light pollution arises, becoming a pressing issue across the globe. I have identified a total of three causes, and also two key solutions, which will lessen the problem.

The main cause is almost certainly the excessive use of light for advertisement in major cities. For example, if we take a look at Tokyo or New York, specifically Shibuya, and Time Square, almost all available surfaces are fitted with large LED panels displaying a variety of colorful graphics. These huge illustrations are mainly due to the rise of consumerism culture, as more products are made, consumers expect advertisements to follow suit. Secondly, streets lights-which previously used the classic “lightbulbs” which used simple coils to illuminate the streets, instead advanced to using diodes, or LED lights, which shine brighter. In addition, street lamps are now being implemented across less urban zones, such as the countryside, further contributing to light pollution. Lastly, night life is growing larger across the world, as work requirements and social expectations evolve. For example, the youth are encouraged to work during night time and rest during the day due to increased demand for efficiency-which results in excessive light usage during the night.

Turning to possible solutions, a huge part of the population has lack-luster knowledge about light pollution-such as the loss of natural beauty, waste of energy, and further polluting the environment. Spreading awareness, and educating the general population will certainly prove to be an effective way to fight light pollution. Nevertheless, government schemes such as daylight savings are also an option, preventing citizens from wasting energy. Furthermore, scientists are developing “Light insulators” in cooperation with the government, which prevents light leak in major cities to space, helping to bring back the starry skies previously lost to light pollution in areas neighboring major cities.

To sum up, light pollution is mostly found in developed countries, specifically metropolitan cities-where night life is abundant. To mitigate the effects of it, governments and individuals should focus on spreading awareness, and making efforts to save light, via means of collective effort, or advancements in technology.