Littering in cities is an increasing problem which needs to be dealt with. Some people think that steeper fines is the best way to deal with the problem. To what extent do you agree?

There is a growing concern about littering in cities because that is a huge problem which can has a negative impact on people and environment. One of the possible solution to this problem is a steeper fines to prevent a growing level of littering, however, it will not be enough to get rid off this problem, so we need to invent new solutions to this problem.

To be honest, I think that steeper fines can actually improve the situation with pollution a little bit, because people will start thinking about the consequences of their actions. Nevertheless, the main problem of this method is that it is impossible to detect everyone who is littering. Despite the fact that we already have lots of cameras and security authorities it is still not enough to cover all the planet.

However, there is also another factor that influence on the level of littering in cities, specifically the availability of trash bins. In case if there are lack of them in the cities it will lead to a growing level of pollution, because people do not have another choice except from throw their garbage on the streets. The authority should make the main effort on improving the infrastructure of their city to avoid the lack of trash bins and other places when people can throw away their garbage because it will be unfair if people receive the fines for littering when they do not have any other opportunity to throw away the rubbish.

To sum up, the steeper fines can slightly improve the situation with littering but it will not solve this problem completely. The authorities should look deeper into this issue because the main cause of pollution may not be in people, but the lack of appropriate waste disposal infrastructure.