Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is often believed that the need to predominantly use a language outside of your mother tongue creates major social issues and affects multiple aspects of your life. Indeed, a language barrier significantly lowers chances of assimilating within the society and increases the challenges faced in the academic and professional life. For this reason, I vehemently agree with the argument that has been put forward in the essay.

Humans are social species and for this reason, verbal communication is one of the key ways we connect with our community. Furthermore, living in a country that speaks a different language most often means that the culture of the society is quite foreign as well. For instance, ethnic Azeris have lived in Georgia for centuries, however, the language barrier still stands and they haven’t managed to adapt to the local culture.

Furthermore, studying and working with the use of a different language is a significant hurdle. The opportunities presented in the academic and professional world are rare and competition is fierce. For example, my best friend had to leave Georgia for Sweden and even though he had to stay in school for 2 additional years to learn Swedish and pass the exams, making friends proved to be quite tough. Additionally, his professional career has stagnated since meeting most language requirements is a heavy task.

To summarize, it is sensible to conclude that familiarizing yourself with a community that uses a different language is a strenuous challenge to overcome in various aspects of your daily life.