Long distance flight consumes the amount of fuel that a car uses for many years and pollutes the air. Some people think that we should discourage non-essential flights, such as tourists travel, rather than limit the use of cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

We are living in a world where the main problem is air pollution in every country. People have different opinions as to whether one long-distance flight consumes a lot amount of fuel that cars can use in several years’ time, while other people encourage restricting unnecessary flights, like tourist visits, rather than putting a limit in use of cars. However, I believe that tourist travel supports local economies; in contrast, it would not be efficient to stop any transportation.

To begin with, solving problems with restrictions brings several flights which effective approach. From environmental perspectives, if long-distance flights consume enormous amounts of fuel, they release large quantities of greenhouse gases into the atmosphere, which can cause global warming. As a result, rising temperatures contribute to more frequent extreme weather events such as floods and heatwaves, thereby discouraging non-essential flights may help reduce environmental damage.

However, solving problems with limiting tourist visits brings a number of disadvantages. From an economic perspective, if discouraging flights can negatively affect the tourism industry, fewer tourists would visit destinations that depend on air travel, which would result in hotels, restaurants and local businesses losing customers. This can ultimately lead to unemployment and lower economic growth. I believe that, nevertheless, cars create pollution every day. Millions of people drive to work, school and shops. As a result, road transportation contributes a huge amount of environmental problems. In a world where the environment is suffering from pollution, governments should reduce emissions through broader transport policies rather than discouraging tourist flights alone.

In conclusion, although restricting non-essential flights may help reduce pollution, I do not believe it is a good idea. However, limiting tourists’ visits can affect the economy of the tourism industry.