Long distance flight consumes the amount of fuel that a car uses for many years and pollutes the air. Some people think that we should discourage non-essential flights, such as tourists travel, rather than limit the use of cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Concerns over long distance flights’ fuel consumption and their resulting air pollution have become pressing issues, leading some people to argue for the discouragement for tourists travel. While this approach may lead to environmental benefits, I strongly disagree with it.

One major consequence of discouraging non-essential flights is the financial impact for tourist driven economies. Island nations have a small labour pool for industry and geographical isolation. Consequently, tourism becomes a viable alternative, relying on long-haul flights to attract tourists from developed countries. Without tourists, countries like Fiji and Tuvalu would find it difficult to sustain their public finance, undermining essential sectors such as healthcare and education. Over time, the reduction in tourism may hinder cultural exchange between nations, potentially detracting many governments’ globalistic initiatives.

Beyond the cultural implications, fewer tourist flights can also result in widespread job displacement. In most aviation companies, tourism flights frequently account for the largest share of revenue. To compensate for this loss, airline companies, therefore, may fire their substantial number of employees. On a broader level, most of these unemployed individuals may be unable to be hired by other employers, placing a significant pressure on welfare funds.

Admittedly, in the short-period, reduced non-essential flights could mitigate air pollution and decrease fuel consumption at the global level. However, these advantages are likely to diminish in the long-run. Rising need for global mobility would increase the reliance on other modes of transport such as cars and boats. As a result, these transport would require more fuel, which in turn contributes to air contamination.

In conclusion, although decreased tourist flight may deliver short-term benefits, its long-term drawbacks are predominantly disadvantageous.