Longer life spans and improvements in the health of older people suggest that people over the age of sixty-five can continue to live full and active lives. In what ways can society benefit from the contribution that older people can make?

In recent times, an advanced healthcare system contributes to longevity for the people, increasing the proportion of elderly people in the population. Due to longer life expectancy it is suggested that pensioners can be of help to society. For example, an employed older generation can support the national economy, while at the same time putting less strain on nursing homes and their children.

One of the possible advantages of occupied elders is a significant rise of the economy. Highly experienced and qualified aging group can increase the efficiency of work and the overall productivity of the services industry and amount of goods produced thanks to the wider range of employable staff. Consequently, providing better exploitation and functioning of facilities, especially in densely-populated and overcrowded cities. Additionally, for better working performance seniors can share their experience and support younger co-workers.

Another benefit society will probably experience is accessibility of nursing homes. As long as the older generation will be employed, they can be financially stable, while at the same time living their lives in the comfort of their home. Moreover, the younger generation will not find this lifestyle of elders burdening for themselves, because they will be free from the responsibility to take care of them regularly. Eventually, this change will increase the overall happiness of the population, people of advanced years will be occupied with their own life, as well as their children.

In conclusion, society can find the older generation being active and living their lives to full extent beneficial due to elders contributing to the economy and providing promptness of facilities.