Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

For centuries, public libraries have been a foundational component to any city. Not only for its historical value, but also for holding numerous resources, books and organising cultural events. Some argue that maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their function. This essay will look at that viewpoint, as well as the alternative, which states how public libraries are of great value to the nation.

Whenever coming across a public library, only an image of books on shelves all-over the place is what hits the most of us. This is not only the case. One of the main goals of public libraries, that is not fairly promoted, is their daily schedule of cultural and social events. Modern day libraries, not only contains numerous resources, but also gives a great share of the effort for holding events that enrich its attendees with knowledge. Art classes, galleries, poetry events, open discussions, and book events, all contribute to the intensive cultural value public libraries gives to the world. That makes its replacement by technology is exceptionally hard.

Some might claim that those libraries are a waste of money. Since technology offers a great substitution. It is evident that libraries’ cost may exceed that of same resources you can easily find on internet. Book printings, decorations, facilities provided, open access to the public all the time, and daily utilities. All hold a major share in public libraries cost, by comparison, you can have full access to same resources with only an internet connection. Yet, human interaction, social gatherings, the essence and art behind every book production brings public libraries’ value overhead thats of modern technology.

Concluding the essay, technology may save a lot of money. That is literally why it was built. To same money and effort. Even with that being said, Public libraries still and always will play a major part of the population development. The value it brings to the world is undeniable.