Maintaining the public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their function. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, due to the rapid development of technology, there have been concerns about maintaining public libraries. Some people believe that this is a waste of money since computers and the internet can now replace the functions of these. This essay will further discuss why public libraries are now redundant and should not be preserved.

To commence, the primary role of libraries over centuries was to provide and store knowledge of our ancestors and hand them down to following generations. However, since modern computers exist, people can access any resources with ease, and there is no more need for these buildings. Technology can now provide documents about literally anything one could need, and most importantly free of charge. Moreover, the internet provides a space for sharing knowledge and interacting with others. For instance, if one has a question, one can instantly find useful advice by looking through Reddit or Quora.

In addition, storing books and printed documents can consume a massive space, which can be used for more meaningful purposes. That would mean there would be less area for other important constructions. For instance, instead of a library, which is completely expendable, a shopping mall can be built. A shopping mall can make people’s lives more convenient and relaxing, while a library gives nothing more than things that could be found on the internet in no time. Therefore, in the end, why should we perpetuate something that no longer has any application or utilization?

In conclusion, maintaining public libraries is nothing different from burning money. Due to the existence of the internet, libraries have become dispensable and should not be kept.