Maintaining the public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their function. Do you agree or disagree?

Maintaining public libraries is a financial overhead as the digital libraries have flourish in today’s modern world. While I accept there are clear benifits of online libraries over public libraries , I believe that it is still worth maintaining public libraries.

There are many advantages of computer based libraries over public libraries such as it can store huge amount of information ,allow acess to information from anywhere through internet this is therefore benificial to those who have hectic schedule while most physical libraries can only be visited during several hours of the day.

However, the preservation of local libraries is equally important because there are many people or senior citizen which are not aware of the internet and technology. They would still prefer the books over any other technology. Also the books are written by the authentic authors that maintain the truthfullness and integrity of the information. While, digital information can be manipulated or altered. Therefore, the public libraries are considered as more reliable source of information, compare to online sources.

In conclusion, despite the benefits of computer technology in providing information, in my opinion, there are good grounds for rejecting the view that spending money on maintaining public libraries is unnecessary.