Maintaining the public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their function. Do you agree or disagree?

It is inevitable that there should be logical reasons behind the approaches to dedication of public money. While some people believe that funding libraries is a waste of money, I, however, agree with those who are of the opinion that public libraries should be financially supported by the government and become free for citizens.

On the one hand, it could be argued that dedicating budget to libraries results in public money being wasted. Advocates of this idea claim that public libraries are becoming less popular, for young generation in particular, due to the appearance of online resources which are available to almost all people. Internet development makes it convenient for individuals to have access to a wealth of information at a click of a button, can eliminating their need for going to their local library. In addition, other public resources are said to be of more significant importance. Take hospitals for instance, they often guarantee the physical health of the general public. Consequently, more important public resources should be given higher priority.

On the other hand, I side with those who believe that public libraries should become free by state supports. Firstly, free libraries usually encourage people to read books. It appears to be an inventive and a fair opportunity for people especially for underprivileged ones who cannot afford to purchase a book, to be passionate about reading. Secondly, libraries function beyond an ordinary place to just barrow a book. It means that they provide individuals with a comfortable and health environment where people can sit and focus on their study. Moreover, many events are likely to take place in libraries as a public place, giving a chance to people to share their ideas. Finally, the greatest benefit of the idea of libraries becoming free is that they are closely related to the culture and mental health of a society. Covering libraries with public money so that they become free for citizens is a great investment on culture. They are a valuable source to create culture and increase people awareness, so the more conscious people become, the more community’s mental health and culture level grow.

In conclusion, although it may seem that giving money over the traditional libraries is a waste of public budget owing to the arrival of online alternatives and importance of other sectors, they play a more crucial role in a society. In my opinion, it would be advisable for the government to make libraries free to invest in developing culture and consciousness as well as motivating people to read books.