Maintaining the public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their function. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that maintaining public libraries is a waste of capital because the development of technological devices such as computer has allowed us to access great information on the internet. I strongly disagree to this view and in this essay l will support my opinion with examples.

To begin with, public libraries are more reliable source to get information. Most accurate data are readily available at the library than the internet, since library staffs check to correct all errors unlike the internet. Individuals can go there anytime without any distractions and have variety of books to use, unlike the internet which sometimes are distracted with poor internet connection, thereby causing delay to get data . The maintenance of the library will be of benefit to the public . For example , a research conducted by Ghana Education Service , reveals that libraries provides individual with adequate information.

Furthermore, the preservation of the local library is still necessary because , it is one of the most popular means of accessing information among senior citizens. Most of the elderly people in the country prefer to use physical books rather than researching on the internet. Due to the time spent on straining the eyes on the computer screen for long with it side effects. For example , a census conducted in May 2024 revealed 75% of the aged male hood use of the library to prevent eye related diseases when using the computer. So maintaining it will benefit the older generation.

In conclusion, although it is believed that keeping the public libraries in good condition is waste of money , l strongly believe it provides accurate information and it is mostly used by the aged.