Maintaining the public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their function. Do you agree or disagree?

People say that maintaining public libraries is a waste of money as computer technology can replace their functions. However, I strongly believe that nothing can replace public libraries, as they hold the same as unforgettable memories in our parents’ childhood and I disagree with this opinion that they are a waste of money.

First of all, it would not be a waste of money to keep libraries open. The advent of new technologies like the internet and computers has transformed traditional libraries from a large number of printed documents into paperless libraries containing only digitized documents. Therefore, it allows people to access information at any time and anywhere in the world on the spot by using modern tools. However, this does not negate for keeping traditional libraries.

Even so, public libraries still play a vital role these days. Firstly, people can go to the library not only to find books, but also they can sit and study there. The peaceful and scholarly ambiance of the library helps people to focus on their work and study. For example, The United States Library Congress and National Library of China are not only big,they also are gorgeous and attractive toward teenagers who come to take photos and advertise the beauty of libraries. Secondly, virtual libraries can be accessed only by those who are computer literate. For elderly and disadvantaged people, they face challenges in using technologies.

In conclusion, I once again restate my view that computer technologies cannot replace the functions of the public because of the benefits and value of maintaining them.