Many adults nowadays prefer spending their free time playing computer games. Why do they do this? Is his a positive or negative development?

These days, it has become common to see adults spending considerably more time playing computer games. There could be a reasonable cause behind this, and I believe this trend has negative consequences.

The primary reason why individuals prefer to spend a lot of time playing video games is that they find it the most accessible to reach compared to other activities. That is to say, when people want to spend their free time, computer games are the most accessible. For instance, when people are stressed out or weighed down by life problems, online games might be the best instant way to unwind, regardless of potential effects. As a result, adults may overlook other activities which could seem tiring but are actually quite enriching, such as doing outdoor exercises, engaging in face-to-face interactions and even reading books. Therefore, computer games are noticeably more popular now than they were years ago.

The main negative outcome of playing computer games too often is that they lead to serious health problems. This means that, the more time people spend on their phones and computers playing games, the more health-related illnesses follow them. For example, when they get home after a hectic day, people, especially younger ones, tend to escape into their virtual worlds by playing video games. Consequently, people may suffer from hazardous health problems such as eye strain and mental issues that could have adverse effects on both personal life and academic trajectories.

To conclude, by no means should adults spend their valuable time carelessly, since it may bring some serious effects in the future. As its drawbacks outweigh the advantages it has, this is more of a negative development.