Many adverts target children. What problem does this create? And how can this problem be solved?

A majority of advertisements mostly aim towards a younger audience. This has greatly affected them to bad money management, which can be a bigger long-term problem in the future. The caretakers are the ones needed to tackle this issue by giving these kids a lesson of real-life money and economics.

Due to the rise of global social platforms and children’s easy access to the internet, they are easily vulnerable towards a wide range of advertisements. At the young age, most of the childrens have little or no media literacy, which can make them spend on products with baseless reviews. The products being advertised are mostly scams, faulty items, or malicious towards children. Without any guardian’s awareness, children may excessively spend towards those items without knowing the real deal. This has also led them prone to bad habits towards money management, which can greatly affect financial issues within the household in the future.

With many problems that can arise, it’s the parents’ responsibility to ensure their children are being exposed with the correct internet assets, especially advertisements. One of the methods they can use is teaching the right way to spend the money. Teaching such complex topics as money could be a challenge to their kids. Instead, they can provide a real-life simulation or a situation for a wise way of using their spendings, giving them a concept of real-life currency.

In conclusion, advertisements that target minors can negatively impact their ways of spending coins, especially in modern society where the internet can be easily accessed. But with the right material and the correct way of teaching, parents can counter this problem that could affect an arising problem in the future.