Many adverts target children. What problem does this create? And how can this problem be solved?

These days, children are increasingly targeted by advertising campaigns. As a result, this trend impacts children’s mental state and overall health detrimentally. Therefore, to address this issue, the amount of screen time for children should be diminished by parents.

The foremost problem caused by advertisements aiming at younger audience is the negative effect on their minds. This creates a consumer culture; in other words, it means that they start to want everything that is shown on TV or on the internet. Because companies, in order to promote their products, use all effective tools, such as upbeat music, bright pictures and celebrities that capture attention of small and the most vulnerable spectators. Hence, they become addictive for attractive images they see and desire them. For instance, fast food, sweets, and other junk food is frequently demonstrated as mouthwatering meals, while the drawbacks are hidden from view. Consequently, they will suffer not only from psychological illness but also from health problems.

One effective solution to deal with this issue is to reduce the amount of time children allocate to phone and other gadgets. Nowadays, parents do not want to be annoyed by their offspring, for that reason most children are spending their childhoods on the internet and watching short videos. Thus, by cutting off screen time, children will have no other choice but to go outside and play more with their peers. In addition, hanging out at the fresh air would be beneficial for their health and prevent from getting diseases.

To conclude, children being targeted by advertising companies is one of the crucial problems we face, and it will ultimately lead to a lower health rate among kids. This can be tackled by decreasing the time allocated to TV.