Many adverts target children. What problem does this create? And how can this problem be solved?

It is no secret that ads mainly focus on and target children’s attention by selling their products. In my point of view, this trend can be harmful, as it may create problems like conflicts among families and the risk of being cheated, especially for youth who do not fully grasp the concepts and aims of the ad industry. To tackle that problem, putting boundaries like age limits could work well in this situation.

True, nowadays, many advertisers, advertising organizations, and companies are mostly aiming for the young auditory to sell their products. This caused some concerns among people and it is worth worrying about. Many people, including youth, are buying items and products because of ads. However, most of the time, teenagers end up being cheated or lied from ads. This is simply because many ads show unrealistic high-quality products to catch the attention of the public, which may not be the same as in real life. Another problem that comes from ads is conflicts among children with their families. Most parents know about the fact that ads don’t actually provide the same thing and some downsides of the products. It is sometimes difficult to explain to children and change their minds, so obviously, it may be the reason for parents to argue with their children.

In fact, it is unavoidable for children to have access to many different contexts of ads without any limitations. In this condition, I would recommend creating restrictions on phones for youth who are naive and do not actually understand and grasp the whole meaning and intention of the ads. Putting them could solve half of the problem since kids still have access to watch them via TVs. The second half of the solution for that would be the roles of parents. Meaning that they also have to take control and make a contribution in their kids’ lives. They have to prevent them from their early ages from being obsessed with ads. Also, if possible, it would be better to customize their TV channels for specialized categories so that they more or less will encounter ads

To sum up, it has been argued that ads are mostly earning money by catching the attention of youth. From my personal view, I agree with the fact that it may trigger certain unfavorable issues among the young generation like the chance of being lied or conflicts with their families. As a solution, I would reckon that with the help of parents and age limits, there is a still possible way to avoid bad consequences.