Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

There’s no doubt that modern technology has become staple in our daily lives, and more specifically, in the way we communicate with each other. However, is the rise of social media and texting creating a gap between people in real life? While some believe so, I feel that, thanks to modern technology, people are more closer than ever.

On the one hand, some argue that social media has done our communication style more harm than good. Firstly, online interactions and entertainment is only becoming more and more addictive. It can be argued that people are constantly glue to their phones and give little attention to their surroundings, including their in-person conversations. Secondly, since most of us are already caught up on each other’s life’s updates through social media posts, we are becoming less likely to plan outings that were previously common to discuss life events and other matters.

Nevertheless, the advantages of modern technology definitely outweigh the disadvantages. First and foremost, it’s now much more easier to communicate with people who are living abroad. Before technology, it was quite costly for anyone to contact their friends and loved ones overseas; therefore, people would get in touch with their distant relatives only once a week or even less. In contrast, now it’s a lot easier and more affordable to maintain long distance relationships. Additionally, keeping in touch with people is now possible despite our busy schedules. We can now catch up with friends on our long commute to work or during a mid-day break without the need to arrange a meeting that lines up with our schedules. Most importantly, online platforms have made it possible to share our interests and consequently, meet people who have similar tastes and hobbies. Therefore, modern technology has not only helped us maintain our current relationships, but also create new ones.

To sum up, while some argue that modern technology is driving people apart, I believe that it’s bringing us a lot closer and helping us communicate more easily and more effectively.