Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart.

Modern technology has both a positive and a negative effect on our relationships on a daily basis. The art of communicating is wonderful as we can keep intouch with relatives and people that stays far away or abroad. The impact of technology can also bear a negative effect on our daily lives, because we tend to miss valuable time with our loved ones while using contemporary technology. I do agree that both statements are correct but in the modern world we can no longer function without technology as it is crucial for daily communication.

Technology can be beneficial when we use it correctly. By limiting ourselves to doing what in necessary and using technology for the correct purpose it has more advantages than disadvantages. For example, I have relatives that reside in the United Kingdom and we only see them once every 5 years, so being able to video call and send pictures as our children grow up we can share in each others happy moments on different continents. The contemporary environments almost forces us to make use of technology as it is our way of communication in our work environments and daily life.

In contrast to the above statement technology takes up quite a lot of our precious time that we can use more effectively. The majority of people tend to get consumed by technology, whether it is using it for social media, or just watching a series we neglect our immediate family members that are with us in the present. For example when I get home in the afternoons I would rather sit on the couch and scroll through Facebook, when my children wants to play or need attention. Instead of me giving them the time, attention and love they need I am busy with my cellular phone, which takes away time that I can never get back to be with my children while they are small and still need me.

In conclusion being able to use modern technology is advantageous and disadvantageous, because if used correctly it can advance and keep us all connected in the contemporary world. However it will take self discipline to know when to put down the phone and be present in the moment.