Many cities are now turning parks and farmland into new housing developments. Is this a positive or negative development?

Currently, it is true that many urban areas have been altering parks and farmland with new housing development. Such actions could impact our lives gravely in a lot of sectors. Therefore, I believe that for practical reasons, this is rather not a favorable change.

Initially, turning these agricultural lands and parks into residential property might result in the increased rate of unemployment in cities. As these farms are removed and replaced, there is going to be less space for agriculture. Henceforth, laborers in this field may become jobless, encountering a common issue in many places. Conversely, constructing better infrastructure or facilities can make up more jobs for the workforce.

Furthermore, we will have less green spaces and relaxant at the loss of recreation grounds or public parks. Without fewer trees and less plants, obviously, there will be less supply of pure oxygen and the amount of emission in the air would overwhelm the atmosphere heavily. Playgrounds also play a crucial role in many citizen’s physical health as a lot of them engage in physical activities and stroll down the green alley out of their active and stressful life to ease a little.

Ultimately, this turn of events will end up making the metropolises overcrowded. Living in a cramped space can bring about many troubles for both the residents and authorities. In such a scenario, more transportations is required; thus, contaminating the air and lives of the locals. The governments will also have to deal with quandary issues such as light or noise pollution.

To wrap up, I would rather say this is not so sagacious of a decision that the governments have been making. Due to the negative influence that it may bring to the citizen’s life.