Many cities replace farmlands and parks with houses. Is it a positive or negative development?

In the world today, the rapid increase in population and the demand for a higher life quality result in a circumstance in which housing areas are constructed to replace a number of farming areas. Personally, I believe that this development may cause many negative effects on our life.

To begin with, we can not deny several positive aspects of substituting agricultural land for houses. This condition helps people handle the problems of lacking dwellings when the population is gradually increasing more and more. If housing areas have not been built, millions of people will not have a fixed place to live, thereby the rate of homeless people will rise which poses a threat to society.

However, this type of development has brought many negative effects on many aspects of life. First of all, this situation leads to a seriously polluted environment when farmlands are destroyed, which means that a variety of crops and plants that help filter our air are cut down. The above consequence is the reason for the next issue that human health is badly affected. Without trees, people suffer from contaminated air concluding a huge amount of dust and emissions so many diseases appear to attack people such as lung cancer or respiratory diseases. In addition, the urban landscape is deteriorating because we can not see anything but houses and houses.

In conclusion, I think that if this situation continues in the future, people will suffer from more and more alarming consequences. Therefore, governments need to find ways to tackle this problem to keep the equality between housing areas and farmlands.