Many cities replace farmlands and parks with houses. Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent times, it is observed that a considerable number of urban areas turn farmlands and parks into residential structures. I believe this is an unacceptable development and the subsequent paragraphs below will validate my view/position/viewpoint.

First and foremost, the conversion of agricultural spaces and gardens into houses can increase the unemployment rate and poverty. Farmers and workers in recreational centers would be rendered jobless, sending citizens into penury and in extreme cases, to death, from hunger. The primary example that shows how negatively far-reaching the impacts of this practice can be is the Epe Vegetable Farm in Lagos State, Nigeria. The farm was converted to estates, all the workers were laid off and the farmers had nothing to live on. This had unprecedented, disheartening effects on their families as many of their children stopped schooling while others became homeless due to the inability to pay house rents.

Furthermore, food insecurity could prevail in the country as fertile lands progressively become converted into living apartments. The food basket of every nation is their agriculture and an exercise that prioritizes people’s accommodation over their survival would only make the food crisis explode. Although amusement parks are not for animal husbandry, the workers there earn a living through their jobs, and making them unemployed by converting their workplace to houses will take their wherewithal away, and it will become herculean for them to feed themselves and their families. A good illustration that depicts how the conversion of cultivated lands to homes can cause food scarcity is Lagos State, Nigeria, whose food supply comes primarily from rural areas. The population of the state explodes daily, making it unavoidable to turn some of the farms in the countryside into houses thereby making food prices skyrocket in the markets.

In conclusion, turning farms and leisure parks into apartments can escalate the poverty levels and make food shortages inevitable.