Many cities replace farmlands and parks with houses. Is it a positive or negative development?

In modern society, there is a tendency that most cities replace eco-friendly places with accomodation areas. This essay will discuss why this trend can be seen as a step backward.

To begin with, there are some obvious causes of the tendency. First of all, the housing prices have increased remarkably compared to the past. In Seoul, the capital of Korea, many people have gathered to this city. Therefore, the damand of houses surpassed the supply of them so the housing prices have doubled or trippled compared to 30 years ago. This made that people had to save their a lot of money to purchase their houses so that people cannot buy their houses easily. Plus, this situation have influenced to the increase of monthly rent. As a result, people should spend their money on accomodation and the city has tried to replace farmlands and parks with houses. Moreover, a lot of infrastructures such as shops, restaurants, and hotels constructed in most cities and it made needs of more houses. This is because they made many job opportunites so that people gathered to the cities. As a result, the supply of the houses cannot meet the demand of them so most cities tend to replace parks with resident areas.

Considering the reasons mentioned above, the trend towards replacing parks with houses is obviously damaging since it contributes to the desctruction of the environment. To begin with, eco-friendly places like parks and farmlands contribute to protection of the nature. To be specific, trees can contribute to the quality of cities’ atmosphere quality since trees can convert the bad air to clean air when they are breathing. Most city has bad air quality since there are a lot of vehicles on roads so that the air condition can be improved by preserving the parks. Also, many animals like pigeons and squirrels are living in the eco-friendly places that have many trees and plants. If the places are replaced, their habitants would be destroyed so that they should move to other regions.

In conclusion, it is important to construct more houses, however, it is more crutial to preserve the eco-friendly places.