Many cities suffer from traffic jams. What problems does it cause? What are the solutions for it?

In recent years, there has been a significant growth in the number of cars being caught in traffic jams primarily due to a lack of transport and poor traffic management. However, I firmly believe that this issue can be effectively addressed by implementing strategies such as expanding and improving public transport, upgrade traffic signals. This essay will analyse the underlying causes of this phenomenon and suggest practical solutions to handle it.

To begin with, the main factor contributing to traffic congestion is a lack of transport. This problem arises because nowadays the population has increased and there aren’t enough public vehicles for urban area dwellers. A recent study conducted in Kazakhstan has revealed that approximately 60% of inhabitants get stuck in traffic jams due to the scarcity of public transport. Another factor causing traffic congestion is poor traffic management. Due to expansion of the city and new rules the government cannot keep up with rapid urban growth. Consequently, this causes road accidents and breakdowns, which leads to traffic jams.

In spite of these difficulties, this issue can be tackled by implementing effective strategies. Firstly, the government should expand the number of public transport fleets. By manufacturing more vehicles where human activity is unlimited, we can save people time, make commuting more comfortable, and improve the overall quality of urban life. For instance, in Astana, the government has been constructing the new rail transit system (LRT), and LRT is predicted to reduce the traffic congestion by 50%. Additionally, the next step of fighting traffic jams is upgrading traffic signals as road signs, traffic lights, and new AI cameras. This way people will be more conscious of traffic laws. A notable example of this is the Kazakhstan government sets up AI cameras called “SERGEK” which will fine lawbreakers.

To conclude, the rise in traffic jams is largely driven by scarcity of vehicles and poor traffic management. However, these issues can be effectively mitigated through widening and enhancing public transport, and initiating traffic signals.