Many cities suffer from traffic jams. What problems does it cause? What are the solutions for it?

In the 21st century, the situation with traffic jams has become increasingly common in some cities. However, there are several reasons for this trend, the steps can be taken to address it.

Nowadays, cities are urbanizing at high speed, which leads to not only the expansion of their facilities, but also to the encouragement of more people to move there. As a result, the sharp rise of population demands a respective number of vehicles. However, not all of the infrastructures are ready for such a tremendous steam of cars. Somewhere, roads are narrow, with just three or four cars traffic jam arises. Moreover, undoubtedly, the quality of public transports can be the core reason of the growth of private cars, leading to the congestion. The low number and bad service cause to the disagreement of residents, and instead of decreasing the number of vehicles it leads to the rise of it.

By taking several measures, the situation can be solved. I think the main one is the development of the infrastructure of the cities. As, the roads would be widened and increased in numbers, an enormous number of vehicles must move in an organized way. For instance, in Dubai, although the population is tremendous and almost everyone has own car, traffic jams are really seldom, due to the well-organized infrastructure. In addition, the betterment of public transport leads to the fall in congestion situations. If government pays attention to this and allocates funds, more citizens would prefer it for its comfort and cheapness, consequently, exploit more often rather than own vehicles.

To conclude, although, traffic jams are widespread problems, by taking appropriate actions such as the development of the infrastructure and the support of public transport, they can be addressed.