Many claim that the fast food industry had a negative effect on environment, eating habit and families. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there are fast-food joints on every street corner. This booming fast-food industry has negatively impacted our surroundings, diets, and family bonds.

To begin with, fast-food joints are quite convenient, as most shops are open late at night and some even 24/7. And, as we are aware, they are affordable, too. But this convenience and affordability come at a cost, mainly sacrificing our health, as these places serve old, oily, nutrient-deficient foods. For instance, one major ingredient used by all food chains is MSG (monosodium glutamate), which is bad for our bodies and adversely affects our health in the long run.

Furthermore, the common use of plastic plates and cups in fast-food centers significantly affects our environment, as does the consumption of meat. Most food joints serve variety of meat dishes at cheaper rate as meat for the business owners is less expensive than the greens. And meat directly produces greenhouse gas emissions, contributing to global warming. And, as we are all aware, global warming is a major environmental issue.

In addition to these key issues, it is also essential to recognize how these junk-food joints affect our family relations. Most family meals are now replaced with quick snacks, which in turn take away family time and hence creates distance between family members. Some statistical reports also provide an insight that unhealthy foods affect our character and make us less sympathetic and understanding. For example, adolescent kids don’t listen to their parents due the behavioural changes developed because of the unhealthy diet.

Therefore, considering all the points mentioned, I believe that the fast-food sector negatively impacts our environment, health, and family relations.