Many countries are experiencing a decline in traditional arts and crafts. What are the reasons for this decline? What measures can be taken to preserve these skills and traditions for future generations?

Around the world, many nations are experiencing a decline in traditional arts and crafts. Some people consider that goverment should invest money to preserve these skills, while others opine that in this globalised world, it is not crucial to maintain these traditions. This essay will explore both views in subsequent paragraphs, along with my own viewpoint.

On the one hand, administration should built centers, where traditional skills should be taught, leading to the preservation of conventional skills. In these centres, students as well as people should be provided education regarding pottery, knitting and many more skills, which assists them to reconnect with their past. Therefore, individuals will be able to design things with their own hands over machines. For example, a newly opened centre of traditional skills in India attracted thousands of people of different age groups just because they wanted to reconnect with the past.

Conversely, in modern times, almost every work is based in machines instead of hands, which is time-saving. Thus, many people consider that prevention of traditional skills is unecessary due to easy access of different machines. For instance, in past times, sewing was done by hands, but nowadays, usage of electric machines are widespread as it not only time-saving but also energy-saving. Consequently, some people opine that it is not important to maintain early traditions in this modernized world.

To conclude, i believe that traditional skills should be preserved because it contains emotional attachments, and it offers a chance to older people to relive with their past memories.