Many countries are experiencing a decline in traditional arts and crafts. What are the reasons for this decline? What measures can be taken to preserve these skills and traditions for future generations?

Traditional craftmanship plays a vital role in preserving cultural heritage. Many nations are facing a decrease in traditional artistry skills. In this eassy, I will explain reasons for declination of these skills and provide measures that can be taken to prevent these expertise for coming generations.

First and foremost reason for reduction is because there is no awareness amongst youth regarding all these mastery. Considering, online stores in trend nowadays; nobody goes for shopping in the market, what’s more, market is the place where people can find all traditonal crafted items. Hence, if there is no knowledge about the product, no one will appreciate the skills behind that outcome. Additionally, there is an increasing demand for products that are in trend, which is resulting into people asking for designs and patterns that are famous. To illustrate, 75 percent of youth demands for the products that are popular on social media. Therefore, there is decline in traditional craftmanship skills across various countries.

There are certain measure that could be taken to preserve those skills. Firstly, since social media is popular amongst current generations; handmade and durable products like handbags, pots, and jewelry should be promoted on social platforms such as facebook, Instagram, and Whatsapp. Moreover, this measure will spread knowledge across individuals about various items that an artist can create with all that generational skills. Secondly, another measure is, schools or universities should introduce classes. This way they can call different craftsman who are expert in different types of skills. For example, there should be an introduction of potery classes, where students and artist can indulge in pot making activity and learn more about the tradition. Overall, by promoting items on social media and class introduction, these skills can be preserved and fostered.

In conclusion, though all skills are declining in many countries. There are also many steps that can be taken to prevent these expertise.