Many countries are experiencing a decline in volunteerism and community engagement. Is this primarily due to the increasing demands of modern life, and do the advantages of prioritizing individual economic productivity outweigh the disadvantages of weakened social bonds?

Nowadays, with the enhancement of modernization and industrialization, communication technology plays a crucial role in shaping part of our lives. While some people argue that the development of mobile devices has made humans more dependent and less social, others claim that it significantly improved communication and convenience. In this discussion, I will present both perspectives and share my personal opinion.

On the other hand, this trend has some harmful effects of using smart gadgets in communicating is that people tend to use it too much and forget about the real conversation in favour of talking with another face to face, which results in the isolating people and discouraging real interaction. For example, many young people choose to make friends online rather than blending with their peers in real life. To be more specific, these virtual relationships are a poor substitute for pure friendships.

On the other hand, these developments can be extremely positive, cooperation between people in different countries was much more difficult when communication was limited to written via letters or telegrams. Nowadays, interacting by email, phone or video is almost as good as these relations, either in work or in social contexts. As the result, they can save more time and money to do other crucial works of their business. Furthermore, many mobile phones and computer now are easily connecting with social media through Facebook. Consequently, people are convenient to make new friends and find people who share common interests, and they can contact through their own technological devices rather than person to person.

In conclusion, the noticeable issues mentioned above have highlighted the numerous benefits and drawbacks of communication technology. As far as I am concerned, I firmly believe that the advantages of these modern devices far outweigh their disadvantages in moderation.