Many countries are seeing a rise in online shopping instead of visiting physical stores. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Online shopping has become widespread across the world. People of all age groups prefer to shop most of their desired products online today. I believe this is a negative development as it leads to lack of socialization among people, and people are also becoming highly dependent on online shopping platforms which reduces their purchase expertise in real-life scenarios.

On one hand, when people get all their products from delivery person, they do not need to step out of the comfort of their homes or offices. This leads people not meeting each other, and they are lagging behind in every step of their lives. As a result, individuals are facing difficulties to become socialize and fraternize to their friends and family. That generate a gap between a person with other to interact and make them introvert. For example, a person do not communicate with their school for years as he prefers to spend time at home.

On the other hand, as people do not need practical skills of communication and bargaining to buy things online, whether a 5 year children or 80 year elder person can place an order for any item with some taps from their smart phone. However, if there is any issue demonstrate in the internet network and technology, these person is no longer to have the same purchase ability to but from shopping mall. So, online shopping is clearly reducing the power of negotiation of a person and create a gap between communications. For instance, a person who is habituated and adored to do shopping form social media, they struggle to purchase goods in person.

In conclusion, although online shopping has been regarded as reliable and convenient for most of us, it also deplete our practical skills of communication, socialization and negotiation in real life.