Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In various nations young men are required to provide military service to their nation after they graduate from school. Although some may think that this is not necessary, I belive that it very crucial for a nation, as it builds a person’s nationalism that in turn contiributes positively to a country’s economic power, and it is also very important for building a strong military for a country.

To begin with, the compulsory military trainings given are very important to boost a citizen’s love towards its country. These is achieved by the lectures given during the trainings at a daily bases, as the trainigs are not solely physical but aslo academic. Hence, it will enhance young men or women’s perception of their nation. This will in turn be used by a nation for having a man power with high affection and this may lead to an improvement of a production in every sector as each individual works towards the devlopment of its country. Many nations are doing such activities and are developing a younger generation with a high national interest.

On the other hand, having the younger generations military trained is vital to build a country’s defence capability as these individuals have a hugh contribution in keeping their country safe. Although the service usualy short, the trained individuals will become a reserve personnel, which will be deployed later in cases of conflicts. For example, a nation may call each men or women who took the training, if it confronts with other nation in relation to border issues. Therefore, the services given for the individulas have a huge implication for boosting a nation’s defence capacity.

In summary, I would say that the benefit of having young men or women trained after school outweighs the disadvantages associated with it, if any. Higher nationalsim and improved national military power are some reasons why military trainings are very vital to a nation.