Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Although some people believe it is a strong, empowering strategy for a country to adopt a system of enlisting the youth for the military by compulsion, I believe joining the military force should be a choice, not an obligation.

By making military service a choice for young men and women, it motivates strong willed men and women to attempt to achieve such an honour, and the achievement holds more importance in their eyes, rather than making such an important responsibility an obligation on people that may not want anything to do with it.

By adopting a system in which there is no choice for the youth to choose whether they serve in the military or not, it can result in them trying to find loopholes, leaving to reside elsewhere, and the military force would begin to consist of a sum of soldiers who simply do not wish to be serving in the force. This could lower the efficiency and reputation of the Country’s military, as well as create a group of resentful adults in the future

It can be argued, that a Country’s youth owes their homeland service for its security and the elders’ security. Serving in the military can develop a significant amount of strength and discipline in young men and women, leading to a more productive, efficient future generation of adults. This, however, would not necessarily apply to all people, especially people seeking a different purpose in life.

Although there can be possible benefits to countries adopting a system of compulsory military service for the youth, I believe we now live in a modern time in which freedom of choice should be everyone’s right.