Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

There are a lot of countries around the world where military service is compulsory for young men after school. I disagree with the idea of extending this system to all countries for both women and men for many reasons. Contrarily to this idea, I think that mandatory military service should be deleted from a perspective of peace.

Beyond all, I believe that the adoption of this system could have negative consequences on the world’s assessment of peace, which is currently very unstable. Promoting a politics based on military development, even if isn’t for war purposes, could enhance the danger and the proximity of a conflict both in the various countries and the international relationships between them.

Secondly, I think that if a country decides to make compulsory military service without any alternatives, some young men and women could suffer from psychological problems connected to the reality that they will face during this period of training. In fact, many people don’t want or are too sensible to use weapons or stay under a severe military education. In addition, there are many alternatives to educate young people, help the community, and make young men and women responsible, starting with a good civil education at school.

Moreover, to participate in the military program, they should give up or delay some life projects such as university studies, work, or creating a family.

In conclusion, I reaffirm that it wouldn’t be a good idea if all the countries adopt the military systems, but, as the opposite, this initiative could determine bad consequences on young people and between the world countries involved.