Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In today’s world, military service, which is obligatory in many countries for men to join after they finish their education, has become a crucial topic that people have started to have different thoughts about. Some individuals believe that military service wastes a good deal of a young man’s time at the beginning of his life as an adult. Others think it is a great idea for all nations to have this system for all persons, even for women. I find it a waste of people’s lives if some of them want to do other things other than serving their country’s military.

Joining the military just after finishing school is obligatory in many countries. Men leave their homes for a year or more to serve the military. This tends to cost them a variety of time, and some of them even lose chances to grow their careers. For example, in Egypt, except for the men that have health issues or the ones with no brothers, others have to attend a year in the service. Some engineers are obliged to spend 3 years serving the army, and this leads to a great loss of chances to make their careers better.

Adopting the system of joining the army for a few years at the start of a man’s life seems to not bother some people. They think that most young people will not serve their country if they are not obliged to do so, and that will lead to the decrease of the number of soldiers needed to serve the country. Some countries do not adopt this system, which puts them in danger over the years.

To conclude, some nations have compulsory military service for youngsters right after finishing school, and there are different opinions about this system. Some believe it is crucial for the benefits of the country, and others think it is a waste of a person’s life. I think people must have the chance to choose what they want to do with their lives at this young age and not be put in a position where they have to do something they do not want to do.