Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In many nations, serving time in the military after finishing secondary education is compulsory for men. Advocates like myself agree that adopting this system in all countries would be beneficial because it makes the country’s military stronger. Additionally, training women should be considered, due to the attributes they offer in battles.

Countries that force young people to train in the military have the strongest armies. After training in defence forces for a while, young men can choose to join the army and become veterans or they can move on and pursue a career in any other field. Those who pick the latter option are counted as reserve personnel and can be called upon when there is a need for more manpower. Furthermore, military power is measured by various factors and a large number of active and reserve personnel is one of the biggest strengths. For instance, In Egypt, all males aged more than 18 must serve at least one year in the military. This benefited the country making it one of the top 10 armies in the world.

Moreover, compulsory military training for women should be thought about due to the different sets of skills they can offer in warzones. Women provide emotional support to men in the army. Men will often act tough and fight till their last breath when there is a woman around. Women are also critical thinkers and can create brilliant strategies. For example, In the Korean War in 1990, South Korean military forces won even though 20% of its active soldiers were females, and the mastermind behind the last battle was Colonel Su Yung, who happens to be a female.

In conclusion, I believe that having a stronger military requires governments to make it mandatory for men to train for a while before enrolling in tertiary educational institutions. Females offer exceptional skills in war zones and training them should be considered.