Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Serving in the army is mandatory for young men across several coushould. It would be beneficial for the rest of the world to establish the same mandate for both men and women.

I strongly disagree with this statement as joining the military should be a choice and forcing it on young adults is a violation of their fundamental rights.

Military services require a certain mindset and physical ability. When young adults are coerced into performing these, they can develop mental health disorders. Army officials often deal with anxiety, depression and even post-traumatic stress disorder. While middle-aged men are able to eventually cope with these over time, freshly graduated adults who are freshly out of high school may find it significantly tougher to do the same. Furthermore, some young adults may go the other way and develop anti-social behaviours which will ultimately cause a menace in the society. Moreover, making military services compulsory can backfire as this will take away its charm and appeal. Working in the army is, and should remain an honour as opposed to something people dread. It should be something that capable youngsters aspire to do and not find ways to avoid instead.

Instead of making these services mandatory, governments should find ways of attracting the right candidates to enroll themselves voluntarily.

To summarise, serving the military must not be made compulsory as this can do more harm than good to both, our youth as well as the rest of the society and can be considered unethical in today’s day. and age.