In many parts of the world, people are relying more and more on prepared food from grocery stores and restaurants because they are too busy to cook at home. This is a bad idea because home-cooked food is much better for us. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, consumption of ready-made meals and restaurants are growing, which is caused by busy schedules and limited free time. Many people argue that this has a negative effect on people’s health, because homemade food is healthier. I firmly disagree with this view, as in modern times more and more companies are focused on selling healthy items and promoting a healthy lifestyle, which may be more nutritious than home.

First of all, this tendency is becoming more and more popular today in many restaurants and grocery shops to sell the items which are necessary and nourishing for the human body. They may include every beneficial information on the label, such as calories, amount of fat, sugar, and protein. Thus, it can contribute to avoiding obesity. Moreover, they also produce food which contains no added sugar, because it is one of the most harmful components in nutriments. For example, there are increasing the number of restaurants which are producing only healthy food. Therefore, this might be a good alternative for homemade food, when there is a time limitation.

Secondly, although cooking at home is usually a more affordable choice, home-cooked food does not always represent a healthier version. The benefits of foods are not defined by the place where it was made, but the ingredients they include. For instance, in many traditional recipes which are frequently cooked in many families, the meals contain a high amount of fat such as oil or butter, which is unhealthy and might have a negative impact on heart function. Consequently, in a plethora of cases, processed food can be a healthier and more beneficial alternative.

All in all, however homemade food is more affordable, it is not always the healthier option. In modern ready-made meals from grocery shops and restaurants, healthiness is prioritised, hence they are as healthy as home-cooked food, if not more.